Checking In

Nothing much to post about.

Must will have noticed the recent solar activity. I’m still kicking the re-cycle gig around. I did manage to save some suitable copper wire for some coils. Got em out of some old transformers. One of the ideas kicking in my head is a small Crystal All Band Radio Receiver. Don’t know where it will go or what will come of it.

I’m still looking for some vintage “Variable Condensers” in the 500pF range. Flea Bay is no help. Most sellers are trying to unload garbage. My attitude is like: Don’t they allow burning in your town? The local dump is closed?

Chump Bay Lets anyone post pictures of shit and even allows folks to sell shit. Well, I gotta find a reasonable source for Varicaps anyhow. But I wouldn’t be shopping at Chump Bay.

Screw it, I want to build something, but, I ain’t inspired. I got the autumn blahs.

Later, Dragon

About theelderdragon15601

Bleh.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Checking In

  1. Craig Cavanaugh says:

    I loved ebay 10 years ago. Now it’s just wal mart and a flea market rolled into one.

  2. Elder Dragon says:

    I get better stuff from flea markets and swap meets. I figure I’ll have to make much of the stuff for the farm radio including making the condenser look like it’s from the right time period. It’s not enough for it to look right, it has to work right.

  3. Ticom says:

    I find variable caps at local hamfests, and they’re usually pretty cheap.

Leave a Reply

