Heat, Power, and Shelter After the Event

We see it on the news, Another survivor crying…Cry if you want to but, with just a quick look around I can see ways to survive.

Heat: there’s fuel for fires in the debris and dumpsters. If you know how to build one of these. “Do we have the capacity to make fire? Most humans have enjoyed that privilege since the stone age. ” Ellen Ripley , Alien³.

Power: I meet basic power requirements with a jump pack ( Like this ) and a small solar panel ( panel ). My back up to charge the jump pack is a peltier module.

Lastly Shelter: A rudimentary warm shelter, which can be scaled to meet budgetary restraints can be built out of Tuff R. It can built inside or outside and will serve to preserve not only your life. But also your quality of life. Shelters like the Yurt and the Hexayurt can go a long way to taking you from survival to a thrival mode.

My favorite winter shelter is and Adirondack type shelter insulated with Tuff R.  Think outside the box. File off the serial numbers and modify an idea till it is distinctly yours. You will know your on the right track when others are asking how you done it.

About theelderdragon15601

Bleh.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Heat, Power, and Shelter After the Event

  1. Sixbears says:

    It wouldn’t take much to improve living conditions for a lot of people there. The news showed people cramed into a hotel with no heat or power. They were using candles. That alone would have gotten me out of that death trap.
    Better living conditions could have been cobbled together from the debris surrounding the hotel.

    Of course, I would not have been there in the first place.

  2. Elder Dragon says:

    It’s as not hard for them as it would be, if help and rescue were removed from the equation. Those cardboard and tin can buddy burners would do for the short time. But the pocket rocket is “Damn!”. It, takes some fiddling to get the ratio’s right and it has to be vented to the outside.
    I’m with you, when the excrement hits the oscillation device…dodge, duck, don’t be in the path of the wet, stinky, stuff.

  3. Craig Cavanaugh says:

    It never ceases to amaze me just how stupid and helpless most people are. This survival stuff ain’t rocket science, just takes a little imagination and elbow grease. I’d be just fine on Staten Island right now, and would have been from day 1…

  4. Elder Dragon says:

    I continue to look for better dirt simple ways of getting the most out of the least. I would have electric light, Heat, hot chow, and warm clean water to bathe in. You are correct. It is not rocket science. It does not take a kings ransom to prepare. I didn’t spend much money at all. I made most of my stuff. I bought more of my stuff at discount houses and yard sales.
    For my shelter, I would have to build a new yurt. No big, after I cut my teeth on my first one. For materials, there is tyvek, bubble wrap, reflextix, and tuff R. Kana and the rest can be made out of what ever is available at hand. I wouldn’t look like a refugee. But, Like Bear said, I wouldn’t be there in the first place.

  5. Spud says:

    This is the total key, one must get away from the crowd, As , no matter even with a small group up north fuel for cooking and heating will run out in a very short period. Then giving you the choice of moving camp or humping said fuel over a gradually widening area. not to mention food and the lack of. The Indians solved this by being migrants…

Leave a Reply

