DIY Boats, Camp Sailers

” Wherever we want to go, we’ll go. That’s what a ship is, you know. It’s not just a keel and a hull and a deck and sails, that’s what a ship needs but what a ship is… Freedom. ”

When looking at sail boats, There are two designs that stick in my head.
Even after all the others. Camp Sailers both, I have one main gripe about both.
The cabins are designed for midgets. I do like square boats of the Scow design.
And I get birdwatcher type cabins. But, these boats have tons of potential.
There is  a bunch of room in a boat after you square off the round parts
Now the T-16 needs a smidgen of rocker on her hull to be more of my kind of boat.
I don’t like the rudder of the T-16 or the lack of an engine well for placement
of a kicker motor.
The cabin is too short and to narrow for my tastes. Both boats could benefit
if a cut water were added to the bow.
Hapscut’s cabin is to short for me height wise and could stand to be longer.
I would move the lee boards of Hapscut forward into the first third of the hull also.
Actually right at the one third mark. I like the aft cockpit of the Hapscut and I
have no issue with the rocker of the design. The rocker would help get a grounded boat
back afloat as well add some speed to her hull.
What I’m seeing here is room for another better boat that uses the best parts of both
designs making it a Trilo-Cut Haps-Byte, 16-18 foot X 7 foot, with Trilobyte type lee boards.
I would keep a 8 foot bird watcher type cabin with head room for a seated 6′ 4″ individual
at the gunnels. Small aft cockpit with self draining motor well and increase the wetted surface
area of the Hapscut type rudder by another third. A Damn near perfect camp sailer, if you ask me.
I wonder if I can get one done before the Pittsburgh Regatta in July.
PS. One of the things that get me going is that most boat plans are requiring the minimum of plywood
in their designs. I would go up a thickness of any wood boat plan out there. IE: 1/4ths gets 3/8ths,
3/8ths gets 1/2 ect…
PPS, This would be a tweener boat for me, as the camp sailer would be a rough boat for full time live aboard.

Hapscut, Sailboat, 18′ X 6.5′, 450 POUNDS EMPTY
http://www.duckworksbbs.com/plans/jim/hapscut/index.htm

And The Trilobyte 16X4
http://www.triloboats.com/order.html#T16
http://www.triloboats.com/T16_Study_Plans.html
http://www.duckworksmagazine.com/05/contest/4/free.cfm

Statistics:           Comments:
Length:     15 ft 6 in     Sheet Dimensions make for Super-quick Build Time
Beam Hull:     4 ft ½ in
Extreme:
4 ft 8 in
Draft Board Up:     3 to 6 in
Board Down:
to 3 ft     Heeled with Board Extended
Displacement @ 3″ WL:     650 lbs     Same Beam Displacements in a knockdown
Displacement @ 6″ WL:     1400 lbs
Weight Empty:     425 lbs
Cabin Length:     7 ft 10 in
Width:
4 ft     Sleeps Two, Side by Side
Headroom:
3 ft 4½ in     Under Deck, More in Gangway
Waterline: Upright (6″ Draft):
12 ft
Heeled (6″ Draft):
14 ft     Develops ‘V’-Bottom
Hull Speed Upright:     4 Knots     1.112 (Theoretical)
Heeled:
4.5 Knots     1.214 (Theoretical)
Rowing Speed Steady:     3+ Knots     One or Two Persons, Calm Water
Sprint:
4+ Knots     Two Persons Only
Sail Area:     84 sq ft     Reportedly 40% More Efficient Than Jib-Headed Sails

Just something to think on , Dragon Out.

About theelderdragon15601

Bleh.
This entry was posted in Boats, Design, Freedom Machines, Homebrew, River, River Trip, Sailing, Scow. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to DIY Boats, Camp Sailers

  1. Sixbears says:

    I too go a bit nuts trying to find the perfect design for my needs. I like both designs, but like you, I’m a big dude. The cabins are a bit too tight.

    If all goes well I’ll start on my little Ooz goose sometime in March. The ice doesn’t leave the lake here until about the third week of April and I’d love to wet the hull soon after. I’ve some wilderness lakes that I’d love to stealth camp at. Certain wild life areas are off limits to camping, but I feel it’s only off limits if they can find you. Used to do it all the time with my dark green canoe.

    It’s worth building your own boat up to about 18 feetlong. Bigger than that there are so many good used boats on the market for cheaper than can be built. The problem is finding one with all the features you want.

    It’s snowing like crazy here now, but spring is coming.

  2. Elder Dragon says:

    A lot of the cabins feel like I’m in camping under the cap of my old ford ranger. It can be done and I lived out of that space for 6 months, but, It sucks in the long run. I like the goose, the rocker is just right for that craft and fast, But I keep thinking more, more.
    Every one of my picks are from a SHTF stand point. I want to be able to launch off the beach and land on suitable shores without ramps or cranes. Shoal draft vessels make so much sense and winching against, say my anchor to get out of the way, is priceless. I’m in love with the balanced lug sail though my preference is for a modded crab claw. I made one from a blue tarp and played with it on land and got a few rides on a ducker who uses one. I had it going almost right off the bat and I’m a landlubber with little experience. I modeled the goose and can tell you this, That design will sail with as much sail as you got balls to run. Don’t forget to ballast well for as per cloth used. Another thing to remember on these scow rockers, is to put one row of 1 inch thick hard chines spaced 1 foot between for the width of the hull. Those chines will add up and give the effect of several inches of keel.
    One other thing I had issue with on hapscut is the 6.5 width. I doubt it is the width of the footprint of the hull. That robs useable space at the expense of looks. I would build it as a straight up 6.5 and add an outer hull for the rounded look, Make that water tight air space and you have something.
    A selling point for me on the birdwatcher design is the self righting inherent in it. 90 degrees, WOW! Cover the cabin roof with solar and use a VAWT or two on the stern with a good charge controller and WOW again! I’m also looking into the SEA-CYCLE Drive Units, pricey, but there are some open source diy available options there. Later I’ll be looking into driving an outboard ( 4 cycle ) off hydrogen. But my experience with them (outboards) are limited.
    The 18’6″ x 6′ Escargot boat gives me some ideas, all though they have no sails on it.
    All of this said, I wouldn’t have any problems taking any of the boats discussed to the glades or the keys.

  3. Sixbears says:

    Shoal draft is the way to go on the East Coast all the down to the Keys and beyond to the Carib. Lots of interesting nooks and crannies to duck into.

    Once on Lake Champlain there was three of us funky shallow draft boats tucked up into a marsh. The other boats looked like long term live aboards too.

    Consider a mast arrangement that’s easy and quick to take down. That way you can sneak under low bridges. I’ve even done it with my Oday 19, although dropping the mast while on the water is tricky.

Leave a Reply

