Boat Electricals and Electronics

I’m a the electrical stage of the boat design. You can go nuts here. Both mentally and breaking the bank. I need a VHF radio, running lights, navigation, ect… Of course I plan on using wind and solar for to meet the charging requirements. Though I’m going incremental, pay as you go, keep is simple throughout. This boat is gonna be a live aboard. Not a weekender. That changes things some. I’m all about redundancy here. This boat doesn’t leave the dock before the backup systems are installed. So that two panels, Two Charge controllers, Two battery packs, and Two VAWT’s.

This is where the money stacks up. Running lights, Towing lights, Anchor light, Docking lights, and don’t forget some deck lighting… This is the must have. Then there is the interior lights. Misc power for those little what ever’s and personal electronics.

Then there’s the navigation and radios. Yep plurals there. Don’t forget about a simple bottom sounder with alarm too. The radios aren’t too costly. No foogin home brew there. I would like a charting GPS, But they cost, and how. The boat is small enough to not require auto-pilot and radar, though it would be nice to have those toys available. There is however a DIY self steer that can be made as some later date.

About the only other thing I need of the bat is a powered winch. On of the design requirements I made right off was the ability to beach itself. I’m wanting the ability to portage itself also using a portable cradle with wheels. All in all, I think this will be a fantastic boat after I solve these last few problems. Dragon out.

About theelderdragon15601

Bleh.
This entry was posted in Boats, Design, DIY, frugal, Homebrew, Sailing, Scow. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Boat Electricals and Electronics

  1. Sixbears says:

    I’m a big beliver in having two VHF radios. I have a base with an antenna on top of the mast, but 99% of the time I use the handheld. Got a water proof and floating handheld from West Marine. They go on sale all the time.

    Get a cheap GPS and lots of paper charts. Good compass with handheld backup. Binoculars are a must.

    One advantage of doing your own electrical is knowing how to fix it when it goes wrong.

  2. Elder Dragon says:

    SixBears, The plan is to outfit like an expedition craft. So it is two VHF radios. One hand held and one base with stern mounted whip antenna. The mod crab claw drives the stern whip choice.
    For a GPS, I’m looking for the best value. A plus is that I can use it on the kayak trip.
    Check, for the compasses, one fore, one aft, and the other on my life vest. Same for the Bino’s. The boat plan can steer from either fore or aft, But you have to be forward to adjust the crab claw.
    The boat plan is now a GO, This afternoon the finances broke free. Up until now, I was working on faith that the where withall would be available. I wish it were enough for me to build a Box Top 30 footer. So from now on out, it’s one piece at a time.

  3. Sixbears says:

    Good for you that the money started flowing and the project is a go.

    Even though I’m now looking for a larger second hand sailboat, the Ooze Goose build is still a go. I’ve been pricing materials. The basement will need some major rearrangement. Might even have to move my veggie oil rack. Right now there’s only about 120 gallons of veggie on it since my trip. Normally it holds 2 or 3 times that amount. A lot of stuff got moved around when I had to dig up the water line. I wasn’t too careful where everything ended up.

    I’m within portage distance from the Androscoggin and Connecticut water sheds. A good set of wheels on the Goose and I could walk to either. The Andro drops me in the ocean in Maine, the Connecticuit in Connecticuit, of course. Either trip can be sailed, rowed, and there are portages. Lake Champlain in VT is about 140 miles away, but that could be taken right through NY City on the Hudson. I’ve sailed part the lake and have power boated the mid-Hudson. It’s surprising that even in highly populated areas, there are nooks and crannies to hide a small boat.

    I’ve a cousin who wants to buy my current boat so bad he can taste it. Not sure if my wife will want to let it go or just keep three sailboats. I’m fine either way.

    I’ve never played with a crab claw sail. Looks like sailing with a hang glider wing, so I guess it makes sense.

Leave a Reply

