Set Backs

Things were going to plan, slowly but in the general direction I had laid out. My two setbacks are both health related.  One, I need to lose the rest of my teeth and Two, I have to see the eye doctor. Not only can I not see as well as I used to, but I can barely read print, or my phone display, or the micro wave display. I have been using big letter tape measures and magnifiers to work around the problem. It came to a head last night, when driving I realized I couldn’t see where I was going. I was gauging/guessing my position by shadows in the dark stretches. All while going 65 miles per hour. Worse, I realized I was using the high beams and was still having trouble. So far the vision hasn’t interfered with the boat build. It is on track and schedule.

The first Doc tells me I’m almost legally blind and sent me to another Doc in about 2 weeks. I figure about the worst that can happen is that I’ll get disability. No crying or drama here. I’m pissed off that this will postpone my kayak trip. At least I can see enuff to ride the river. Yee Haw.

About theelderdragon15601

Bleh.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Set Backs

  1. Sixbears says:

    Don’t scrimp. Get a decent set of choppers and good pair of glasses -then get a backup pair or two. These things affect your quality of life every day.

    I keep a couple pair of reading glasses in my chart bag. The charts are not nearly as useful without the glasses.

  2. Craig says:

    That sucks. But I know how it is from my eye problem. My next set of specs will probably have to be bifocal, getting hard to read maps and such, especially at night. Have to use a flashlight… At least the build is still on track.

  3. Elder Dragon says:

    Well, the Doc tells me to do the teeth first on the off chance that it has some effect on the eye problems. We got a pile of snow here, so I’ll have to wait to upgrade my reading glasses. I already set my monitor at a better resolution and increased my default font display. My calm was restored after I did some archery practice. I can still hit the center mass 9 out of 10 at 20 yards. It’s blurred but doable. This getting old sucks. I’ll adapt and keeping on course. I want that river trip bad now.

  4. Sixbears says:

    Zen archer.

    It’s as they say, old age is not for sissys.

    About 13 years ago I had dental insurance for one year through my wife’s job. Burned through their “lifetime service limit” in that year. Actually went over a bit. Saw a dentist every two weeks. Worth it. Lucky I still have most of my teeth. Dad had dentures at 14.

Leave a Reply

