I Got Yer Gun…

This is My Rifle

Mark Maysey

Back in 69, I didn’t have a care

Before they called my number, I chopped of all my hair

Said goodbye to mamma, dad and uncle Dan

Boarded an airplane and headed off for Nam

He called us to attention as we stepped off the plane

Checked us off a list as he called out our names

Then he picked up his rifle and raised it in the air

Grabbed his crotch with his other hand as we all stood and stared

He said...

Chorus

This is my rifle

This is my gun

One is for killing

The others for fun

So until this war is over

Or until your time is done

This is your rifle and this one is your gun

Thirty years have passed since I stepped off that plane

The nightmares haven’t ended and neither has the pain

I’ve drank my share of liquor and smoked my share of grass

But I can’t unload the memories or these few words from my past

Repeat Chorus

Well, a dear friend of mine finally called it quits

They found him one cold morning laying in a ditch

A bullet through his brain, his rifle at his side

And one old rusted dog tag from 1969

When they turned his body over they found his written note

It wasn’t but a few lines, but the last he ever wrote

And when they laid him in his grave on that cold December day

I took those words he’d written and I began to play

Repeat Chorus

Back in 69, I didn’t have a care

Before they called my number, I chopped off all my hair

Any questions dirt bag?

My Little Armalite

I was stopped by a soldier he said “you are a swine”
He hit me with his rifle and he kicked me in the groin
I bowed and I scraped, sure my manners were polite
Ah, but all the time I was thinking of me little Armalite!

Chorus:
And it’s up along the bogside that’s were I long to be
Lying in the dark with the Provo company
A comrade on my left and another one on me right
And a clip of ammunition for me little Armalite!

A brave RUC man came walking up our street
With 600 British soldiers gathered round his feet,
Come out ya cowardly Fenians come on out and fight
But he cried I’m only joking when he heard my Armalite!

Chorus:
And it’s down along the Falls Road that’s were I long to be
Lying in the dark with a Provo company
A comrade on my left and another one on me right
And a clip of ammunition for me little Armalite!

The army came to visit me ’twas in the early hours
With saracens and saladins and buggered armoured cars,
They thought they had me cornered but I gave them all a fright
With the armourpiercing bullets of me little Armalite!

Chorus:
And it’s up in Crossmaglen that’s were I long to be
Lying in the dark with a Provo company
A comrade on my left and another one on me right
And a clip of ammunition for me little Armalite!

Well the premier came to Belfast to see the battles won
The generals had told them we have them on the run,
The corporals and privates while on patrol at night
Said “send home for re-enforcement’s it’s the bloody Armalite!”

Chorus:
And it’s up in old Poleglass that’s were I long to be
Lying in the dark with a Provo company
A comrade on my left and another one on me right
And a clip of ammunition for me little Armalite!

A Citizen owns a gun, A slave have no access to a gun.


About theelderdragon15601

Bleh.
This entry was posted in Gun Control, Guns. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

