The Remington 1858

The Remington was a single-action, six-shot, percussion revolver produced by E. Remington & Sons, Ilion, N.Y., based on the Fordyce Beals patent of September 14, 1858 (Patent 21,478). The Remington Army revolver was large-framed, in .44 caliber, with an 8 inch barrel length. (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Remington_Model_1858) ****This is my favorite gun to shoot. I shoot .451 round ball over a 2F black powder load. I shoot them in the steel frame and the brass frame, cap and ball and with cartridge converters. No matter. In the brass frame I load my own shells and keep the roar down a mite. I also like to load it with bees wax and shot over powder, giving a extra tamp on the loading lever after the wax dries solid.

Hickok45 has about the best video on it. Though he is a mite outa practice with it. Give it a look.

Mkay, That was a good video, Better than most of the you BOOB fare. Most of those experts on the tube are talking out their a$$es and most can’t get their facts right, even if their lives depended on it. This next video is by another gentleman who is not only knowledgeable, But also skilled with cap and ball pistols. Pay attention to how he does it. I know he uses .454 ball. But I prefer the .451 in 200 grain. It hits hard enough. Now, If you get some skilled at these they can reach out and touch a bad someone at a distance.

Remington’s model 1866 revolving rifle

Now that looked like a lot of fun. They are reasonable to shoot too. Store Bought BP is going around a 20 spot, if yer to unskilled to make yer own. I use the #11 CCI hot caps, when I can get them. I also make my own out of thin aluminum and even shot those plastic caps that fit on the nipples of my guns. The nipples on my one Pietta are so mushroomed that I can only touch it off using oversize plastic toy caps from the dollar store. Spare cylinders go around 50 bucks each. It’s all about bang for the buck for me. These are fun to hunt with too.

Until next time, Keep yer powder dry, Dragon out.

About theelderdragon15601

Bleh.
This entry was posted in BP, Guns. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

