Thinking About The Sun

The Kill shot. I give this a better chance of it happening due to new factors in the Solar Cycle. Importantly, We have to factor in the weakening of earths magnetic shield. The point system I use to predict solar activity is seen a spike in recent months. It will be interesting to see how close it gets.

I’m not worried in the least, I just adjusted my long range plans to include the possibilities of  potential catastrophic solar events. No grid, no problems. But, I’m a country boy and never worried about the grid going dark. Later, Dragon Out.

About theelderdragon15601

Bleh.
This entry was posted in Hazardous Weather, Solar Activity, Solar Events, SPACE, Storms, Sun. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Thinking About The Sun

  1. Sixbears says:

    I’ve been following Suspicious0bservers for a few months now. Interesting.
    I’m not going to do much more than what I’m doing now. Always figured I could lose both the grid and even my own solar electric system. Made plans to live with out power. Very happy to have a well that constantly overflows, no power needed.

  2. Suspicious0bservers are doing much the same stuff I was trying to do, But they are doing a much better job than I. Now as I wrap my head around what a kill shot would entail, I’m rather certain that some of the smaller systems would remain unaffected. I feel that an solar array not tied to the grid has about a 50-50 shot of surviving. If affected I feel the charge controllers would bear the most of the damages. The grid would bear the most of the damages, because the entire grid is a huge antenna array in this instance. It bears noticing that there is little said about a ground type Tesla effect component ( telluric currents) to such a scenario. While I feel that a world wide outage has a higher chance of chance of happening I still wouldn’t put it up as high as some of the alarmists would.

    • Sixbears says:

      My system can charge from the grid, but is not grid tied. When I replaced the simple charge controller with a more sofisticated one, I kept the old as a spare. There’s very little to go wrong with the old design. Not much more than a couple relays. Eventually the bateries would go, but I could still use power directly from the panels for a number of things.

Leave a Reply

