I’m Back

I got my white water fix on sat. I got to play with a sweet little ten foot Yak, Modded just right, with twin skegs that stretched out for the last third of the boat. She tracked like a dream and when I pointed her into a wave and she just ate it up. I pulled up along side a play boat who was working a wave and sat right next to him talking and enjoying an iced tea and a cig. I was going Wow, How do you do that? And is that hard? I had my paddle sitting on the clips and He didn’t know that I had the stern balanced on a rock. Chock up one for the old school. He gave me a dirty look, just before he turned downstream. MUHAHAHA!

The water was fine, about 60 almost all day and the board had the level at 1.99 feet. I had my B-day cake on Dimple rock with my feet dangling over the edge. I was enjoying it for a bit just before the tour came through and I had to get out of way for the goalie guy who keeps the tourista’s from drowning. We headed down stream to get away from the tourists and finished the rest of the run and loaded back to base camp where there was Burgers, Brats, and some wicked tatter salad.

All my gear worked fine and the only causality was my camera which is somewhere at the bottom of the river. The man who owned the boat, offered her to me at cost, but I was short. Maybe next time.

Till Next Time, Woo Hoo! \m/

About theelderdragon15601

Bleh.
This entry was posted in Kayak, River, River Trip. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to I’m Back

  1. There ain’t no rest for the wicked
    Money don’t grow on trees
    I got bills to pay
    I got mouths to feed
    Ain’t nothing in this world for free
    No I can’t slow down
    I can’t hold back
    Though you know I wish I could
    No there ain’t no rest for the wicked
    Until we close our eyes for good

  2. anonymous says:

    Sounds like you had a great time on the water – way cool. And Happy Belated Birthday.

  3. Thanks, I had a great time, woot woot woot…

  4. Sixbears says:

    It’s about time you got to do more than write about the river. Sounds like you were due. Happy B day!

  5. See Sea says:

    With a little luck that boat will still be available when ya get some more cashola. I know how you feel about being whetted for more…

    • I think I’ll clear some space and build a simpler yak for playing with until I get the destroyer to behave. Warping ply looks simple on paper, but it is a pain in the balls. I need a big garage. I looking hard at all the boats we wanted to build thirty five years ago, but didn’t have some of these modern adhesives and materials to play with. There’s room for the wood boats on the river when I can stand toe toe in a wave train with an old school 10 footer vs a 1200 dolla plastic play boat. But, there’s always fools who think that they can buy their way instead of innovate. The so called industry has taken a left turn and it has left room for innovation.

      • See Sea says:

        Oh I wish I still had the link to one kayak plan I used to have but lost when my ‘puter died… It was a sweet lookin’ thing! I searched but could not find, so many of those sites come and go… Warping ply is a bit of a bitch. Need lots and lots of clamps, Spanish windlass, and some “creative trimming/filling”. “Stitch and glue” ain’t as easy as it’s made out to be either. Nor do I trust it entirely. For a mill pond, sure. For the Gulf, or especially what you want to do, uh, no. I want frames and screws to back up that miracle goo…

      • See Sea says:

        AHA!! I found it! http://www.harrybryan.com/harrybryan/images/plans/1fiddlehead10.6.jpg

        A canvas cockpit cover and some foam could make that a badass whitewater boat.

  6. I wish warping ply was as easy as warping coraplast. But it’s not. A thing to think on: Stitch and glue, properly applied, the fillets are a/the frame. The trick is to apply the fillet compound in one application, stem to stern one seam at a time. That and proper fiber reenforcement is key to a strong boat made by that method. I use it in all my 2 foot models. A trick to panel alignment, is the dowel method. A short length of dowel is inserted under the inside wire at the seams. Depending on the seam geometry, I use anything from 1/4 inch to broom stick. A 2 foot model allow me to get a design from paper to a testable rig in short order. I then take the model out to my test spot where I have some 2 foot scale water hazards. It’s not perfect though as a Hampton Harbor design that I was real pleased with was weaker in the full scale than expected. That boat is a flat water boat for sure. Protected water only. I tried to test the flex of the boat on the strong back and it failed so completely that it hit the burn pile immediately. I recommend portaging that style boat at the fist sign of ripples in the current. An 8 foot coraplast boat did better and I rode it down shit crick after a bad rain. But coraplast won’t do the Yough. So right now I’m at a class 4 boat, laminated throughout. It has the right amount of flex. It is way better than those ply coffins we used to ride the river in. Jazus, That was almost a whole post worth of material. : )

  7. Harry has some nice boats. Those are really old school. I like the Fiddlehead 10.6, The Shanty boat, The Trout, and The Ladybug.

    • See Sea says:

      I knew you would like them 🙂

      • I can see me living in that shanty boat. And though I’m nuts about white water, my time with that is near to the end, I’m not 19 any more and mores the pity. Too very soon I’ll graduate to drift boats and start sailing puddle ducks.

  8. Sixbears says:

    You guys . . . I went down the boat building rabbit hole again. Harry has some pretty boats.
    I’ve got a bit more free time for my boat project, but now it’s raining again. Don’t like to use slow cure epoxy in these conditions.

    I did a bit of resin work yesterday on my little boat. Also patched my “tupperware” boat. Old Town Discovery 174. Outer layer of crosslink 3 split where it had a deep gouge from a rock. Depolarized the plastic with a propane torch, then patched with 9 oz cloth and eposy resin. Will coat it with a plastic paint for UV protection.

    Disappointed to see the damage, but it’s had 15 years of heavy use. It’s the boat we used to haul south in the winter. Paddled southern lakes and rivers, plus a good part of the FL Keys. Did a lot of canoe camping and ran a lot of white water with it.

    At least the patch is looking good.

Leave a Reply

