Damn Weather

Each and every time that I have some free time, It’s raining or cold or both. Been spending my time reviewing youtube vids on subjects related to the kayak mods. I’m leaning into coating the whole hull with some two part epoxy before any painting or other mods. The reason being is the boat is made of a softer plastic ( like big wheel toys are made of ), which is a damage magnet. I’m not putting down the boat as it was a means to an end here. Cheap enough and available to get out on the water more the quicker. I will probably end the season with a completely different boat, but all in all, this was a good starter craft and will end up with a fisherman before the season ends, mods and all.

I have another trip in the works up the Loyalhanna. (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Loyalhanna_Creek) Boat Regs (http://fishandboat.com/spbtregs.htm#west) It is good form to do some searches online to find out what hidden costs you will accrue boating in this F’ing state. One trip I was hounded of a state lake for not having a launch permit. The “ranger” follow me as I portaged around the entire lake and relaunched outside of the park. I was not a happy camper, after carrying my boat for those few miles. Barney Fife’s abound here.

In other boating news, a friend got given an old school jon boat and is having a devil of a time with state regs as it’s original owner is now deceased. Even the state reps office couldn’t help with the problem with this antique boat. The original owner registered it last in 81. He is having a difficult time on even getting a launch permit. I think this state should have it’s slogan changed to “You Can’t Do That Here”.

In camping news, I redid all my wood craft camping gear, so I’ll have to post some pictures sooner than later. I’m into the ultra light / stealth camping range here. My budget is poor man’s, instead of common man’s stuff. A caveat here is not to go with out quality where it really counts. An example, would be in not buying cheap water filtration items. A lesson I might add, that I learned the hard way. (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Giardiasis) I hope never to experience those stomach cramps and excessive gas ever again. Since then I even filter and boil tap even water. My experience was brought on by municipal water supply, not in some third world country, but closer to home at McKeesport Pa. (http://books.google.com/books?id=COKLc8k_f4YC&pg=PA91&lpg=PA91&dq=giardia+mckeesport+pa+outbreak&source=bl&ots=h64Se9Fy7H&sig=WFno6rglpOhvU26F8FvuazeOAIg&hl=en&sa=X&ei=6kVIU9XtHIf32QXq1IHABg&ved=0CDoQ6AEwAg#v=onepage&q=giardia%20mckeesport%20pa%20outbreak&f=false)  I thought I was suffering from appendicitis, the pain was so bad, until the gas started. Nasty stuff, believe me there. So I’m looking hard at the

MSR Miniworks EX Microfilter and the

Sawyer Products Mini Water Filtration System .

Sawyer Mini Water Filter http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lHxuObrD4ZQ

MiniWorks EX microfilter http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rfVB3GAxHmQ

Let me know what Ya’ll think, Dragon Out.

 

About theelderdragon15601

Bleh.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Damn Weather

  1. Ticom says:

    I use a MSR. They make good stuff.

  2. Sixbears also advised the MSR filter, sometime back. Another local guy uses the sawyer mini with good results. I have made up my mind to go with both and add a prefilter for chemical contaminants. I’m a little concerned with run off from fracking sites.

Leave a Reply

