Kayak Progress

kayak13 kayak14 kayak16

Don’t look like much yet. All dry fitted. I just had some time between rain threats and household chores. I have the bow stem where I want it now and will start next time on the stern stem. I worked out how I was going to laminate the chine log, shear clamp and keelson. Also you’ll notice only the keelson is cut into the frame. The rest of the framing is surface mounted, to be filled in before skinning the hull. I’m going  with a blunted bow and a wider stern section with a 22 1/2 degree pitch. Bobbing the stern section will allow for a rudder or a trolling motor attachment point. The bow stem (45 degree pitch) was made from 1 1/2″ x 3 1/2″ section of maple. Most everything else is made from 3/4″ pine stock so far. I’m projecting a tentative launch date for 7/18/14. The Yough river is calling my name. The call of the river cannot be ignored.

This is what I’m talking about:

Don’t get caught up the crick without a paddle, Later, I’m out of here.

About theelderdragon15601

Bleh.
This entry was posted in Homebrew, Improvisation, Kayak. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Kayak Progress

  1. Here’s a vid of some crazy mofo’s going out on the yough at 12 feet!

Leave a Reply

