Pack Weight

wheel-2-largeI follow a bunch of woods lore that Dave Canterbury posts on Youtube. While I don’t agree with everything he posts/teaches, Sometimes he posts a real gem. This is a real gem.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=trZDAxSAx44

The first most important tool you take with you to the woods is a functional brain. Most folks are handicapped right off. They was born with no brain at all. I’m over 50, so many of my choices reflect that simple fact. Another fact is that I tend to live outdoors more than indoors. So, I try to have a few comforts with me. I’m lazy so I got a list of “5” things to remember to survive. Earth, Air, Fire, Water, And Spirit. In Native American traditions, it forms the basic pattern of the MEDICINE WHEEL. North, East, South, West, and You.

Don’t worry none If you can’t get it. Most white folks can’t. You never get lost, because no matter where you go, there you are.

About theelderdragon15601

Bleh.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pack Weight

  1. Sixbears says:

    It’s impossible to bring enough gear to cover for being stupid.

    I’ve gone heavy and I’ve gone light with packs. For me, I’ve found the sweet spot is around 26 pounds.

    Instead of an ax my friends and carried good long machettes. It takes some skill to use one properly, but we got good service out of ours. They were carried with the handle sticking up out of the pack for easy access.

    The key item for me is a quality sleeping bag.

Leave a Reply

